Tory Remainer Clarke and Labour Leaver Stuart take seats in House of Lords

Ken Clarke has taken his seat in the House of Lords. Source: PA

Prominent Tory Remainer Ken Clarke and leading Labour Leave campaigner Gisela Stewart have both taken their seats in the House of Lords.

The Conservative former chancellor and Brexit rebel was among the ex-MPs appointed to the upper house by Boris Johnson, despite being expelled from the party last year for backing moves to block a no-deal.

Lord Clarke of Nottingham served in the Commons for nearly 50 years, being elected 13 times to the constituency of Rushcliffe before he retired at the last election.

As well as the top job at the Treasury, the Conservative peer also held other key Cabinet positions during his time in government, including home secretary, health secretary and education secretary.

Lord Clarke wore the traditional scarlet and ermine-trimmed robe for the brief formal introduction ceremony, in which he swore the oath of allegiance to the Queen.

He was supported by fellow Remain supporting peers Lord Heseltine, who lost the Tory whip after saying he would vote Liberal Democrat, and Lord Deben.

Also being introduced to the upper chamber was former Labour MP Baroness Stuart of Edgbaston, who led the Vote Leave campaign and endorsed Mr Johnson during the 2019 general election.

The non-affiliated peer, who represented the seat of Birmingham Edgbaston between 1997 and 2017, wore ceremonial robes as she swore the oath of allegiance.

She was supported by former SDP leader Lord Owen and ex-Bank of England governor Lord King of Lothbury, who both supported Brexit.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here