“With so many MPs retiring, I think Boris Johnson should stand in one of these seats” says Former Minister Dame Andrea Jenkyns.

Dame Andrea Jenkyns has called on Prime Minister Rishi Sunak to bring back Boris Johnson as a candidate, amid a record number of MP resignations ahead of the general election.

Dame Jenkyns, who served under Boris in the Department for Education, believes the former Prime Minister running in one of the many vacant seats would boost the party’s chances at the forthcoming General Election on July 4.

It’s time to Bring Back Boris says Dame Andrea Jenkyns the MP for Morley and Outwood.

The number of Conservative MPs stepping down before the upcoming election has exceeded the party’s previous record set in 1997, when Labour, led by Tony Blair, won in a landslide. Current polls suggest Sunak might face a similar defeat.

In a post on X (formerly Twitter), Dame Andrea wrote:

“With so many MPs retiring, I think Boris Johnson should stand in one of these seats. Time to ‘Bring Back Boris’. We need him to help stop Sir Kneel-a-lot, flip-flopping, anti-Brexit, not knowing ‘what a woman is’ Starmer and Rayner from getting into power.”

Whether Boris Johnson would stand is currently unknown. But the former PM has warned Keir Starmer and Rachel Reeves, the shadow chancellor, are “licking their lips vampirically” about the prospect of wealth taxes, while warning that Labour, if elected, would “throw in the sponge and let the boats come” by scrapping the Rwanda deportation plan.

The former Prime Minister also said Starmer would be “the most dangerous and Left-wing Labour prime minister since the 1970s” who would raise both taxes and spending.

Boris Johnson outside 10 Downing Street. Picture by Simon Dawson / No 10 Downing Street

With the polls over recent months not moving, it is believed nearly 50 MPs have now submitted letters of no confidence in Prime Minister Rishi Sunak with a flurry of letters going in last week, just before the Prime Minister called the snap General Election.

Letters are sent to Graham Brady, chair of the 1922 Committee and past a certain quota which currently stands at 53, Brady is able to call a confidence vote in the party leader. 

A source told the Conservative Post:

“The 1922 cornered Sunak last week and said we’re reaching the threshold. Resign or call an election.”

It is believed this triggered Rishi to call the snap General Election for July 4 even though the Conservative Party are still currently 20 points behind in the polls.

Some Conservative MPs questioned the Prime Minister’s timings, with one calling it a “gamble of huge proportions” and another saying it was “pure madness.”

One backbench MP told the Conservative Post:

“Of course Labour are delighted but I can’t name one colleague from our side who agrees with the logic of holding the election in July. We still had so much to do. But I guess we’ll just have to get on with it. Rishi’s dropped us in it and now we need to put our best foot forward and fight.”

The 79 Conservative MPs currently standing down at the forthcoming general election are as follows:

  • Sir Graham Brady : Altrincham and Sale West
  • John Baron : Basildon and Billericay
  • Bob Stewart : Beckenham
  • Huw Merriman : Bexhill and Battle
  • Dehenna Davison : Bishop Auckland
  • Nick Gibb : Bognor Regis and Littlehampton
  • Jamie Wallis : Bridgend
  • Andrew Percy : Brigg and Goole
  • Sir Robert Neill : Bromley and Chislehurst
  • Sajid Javid : Bromsgrove
  • Sir Charles Walker : Broxbourne
  • Jo Churchill : Bury St Edmunds
  • Craig Whittaker : Calder Valley
  • George Eustice : Camborne and Redruth
  • Tracey Crouch : Chatham and Aylesford
  • Nickie Aiken : Cities of London and Westminster
  • David Jones : Clwyd West
  • Will Quince : Colchester
  • Trudy Harrison : Copeland
  • Henry Smith : Crawley
  • Dr Kieran Mullan : Crewe and Nantwich
  • Chris Heaton-Harris : Daventry
  • Alister Jack : Dumfries and Galloway
  • Lisa Cameron : East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
  • Tim Loughton : East Worthing and Shoreham
  • Sir Greg Knight : East Yorkshire
  • Edward Timpson : Eddisbury
  • Dame Eleanor Laing : Epping Forest
  • Chris Grayling : Epsom and Ewell
  • Dominic Raab : Esher and Walton
  • Mike Freer : Finchley and Golders Green
  • Brandon Lewis : Great Yarmouth
  • Robert Halfon : Harlow
  • William Wragg : Hazel Grove
  • Mike Penning : Hemel Hempstead
  • Dr Matthew Offord : Hendon
  • John Howell : Henley
  • Chris Clarkson : Heywood and Middleton
  • Jonathan Djanogly : Huntingdon
  • James Grundy : Leigh
  • Philip Dunne : Ludlow
  • Theresa May : Maidenhead
  • Pauline Latham : Mid Derbyshire
  • Sir Paul Beresford : Mole Valley
  • Douglas Ross : Moray
  • Oliver Heald : North East Hertfordshire
  • Sir Michael Ellis : Northampton North
  • Chloe Smith : Norwich North
  • Stuart Andrew : Pudsey
  • Sir Alok Sharma : Reading West
  • Sir James Duddridge : Rochford and Southend East
  • Mark Pawsey : Rugby
  • Sir Robert Goodwill : Scarborough and Whitby
  • Gordon Henderson : Sittingbourne and Sheppey
  • Richard Bacon : South Norfolk
  • Sir Gary Streeter : South West Devon
  • Royston Smith : Southampton, Itchen
  • Kwasi Kwarteng : Spelthorne
  • Stephen McPartland : Stevenage
  • Jo Gideon : Stoke-on-Trent Central
  • Sir William Cash : Stone
  • Nadhim Zahawi : Stratford-on-Avon
  • Paul Scully : Sutton and Cheam
  • Lucy Allan : Telford
  • Andy Carter : Warrington South
  • James Heappey : Wells
  • Nicola Richards : West Bromwich East
  • Stephen Hammond : Wimbledon
  • Steve Brine : Winchester
  • Adam Afriyie : Windsor
  • Robin Walker : Worcester
  • Ben Wallace : Wyre and Preston North
  • David Duguid : Banff and Buchan
  • David Evenett : Bexleyheath and Crayford
  • Dame Andrea Leadsom : South Northamptonshire
  • Craig Mackinlay : South Thanet
  • Michael Gove : Surrey Heath
  • Matt Hancock : West Suffock
  • Sir John Redwood : Wokingham

Photo: Boris Johnson outside 10 Downing Street. Picture by Simon Dawson / No 10 Downing Street


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here