The Crown stars win big on night of British triumph at the Golden Globes


The Crown’s Josh O’Connor and Emma Corrin led a night of triumph for British stars at the Golden Globes last night.

Netflix’s Charles and Diana were the toast of the largely virtual ceremony and won TV drama best actor and actress for their explosive portrayal of a royal marriage in crisis.

Emma Corrin, who played Lady Diana appeared visibly shocked as her name was called to confirm she had won ahead of co-star Olivia Colman’s turn as the Queen and Jodie Comer’s performance in Killing Eve.

She referred to O’Connor as “my prince charming” and added: “Thank you so much to Diana, you have taught me compassion and empathy beyond anything I could ever imagine.”

The lavishly produced, headline-making The Crown was named best small screen drama while Gillian Anderson won best supporting actress for playing Margaret Thatcher.

Other British winners included Daniel Kaluuya for Judas And The Black Messiah, John Boyega for Small Axe, Rosamund Pike for I Care A Lot, Anya Taylor-Joy for The Queen’s Gambit and Sacha Baron Cohen, a double winner for Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, which was named comedy film of the year.

Also on the big screen, Nomadland won best drama.

Chadwick Boseman’s widow delivered a tear-jerking acceptance speech on his behalf after he won best actor for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom and Andra Day was named best actress for The United States Vs. Billie Holiday.

American-born Argentinian-British actress Taylor-Joy won best performance by an actress in a limited series for Netflix’s chess drama The Queen’s Gambit, while the show was named best limited series.

Boyega was recognised for his performance of a policeman fighting institutional racism in Small Axe, winning best actor in a TV supporting role.

Jodie Foster won best supporting actress in a motion picture for The Mauritanian.

Best foreign language film was won by Minari, the poignant portrayal of immigrant life in America, while Aaron Sorkin won best screenplay for a motion picture for The Trial Of The Chicago 7.

Zhao was also named best director in a category which also included Briton Emerald Fennell.

There was also joy for Canadian comedy Schitt’s Creek, as it was named best television series, music or comedy, while star Catherine O’Hara won best actress in a music or comedy TV series.

Jason Sudeikis won best actor in a musical or comedy TV series for Ted Lasso, Aaron Sorkin won best screenplay prize for The Trial Of The Chicago 7, and Pixar movie Soul was named best animated film.

The night’s honorary prizes went to veteran actress and activist Jane Fonda, who received the Cecil B DeMille Award, and Norman Lear, who claimed the Carol Burnett Award.

The ceremony was starkly different to those of previous years, with no red carpet and nominees appearing from around the world.

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosted for a fourth time but in another pandemic-enforced break from convention did so from separate coasts, presenting from New York and Los Angeles.

The audiences were populated by essential workers rather than the usual small army of A-listers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here