England’s lions roared in their opening World Cup game beating Iran 6-2 at the Khalifa International Stadium in Doha.

Jude Bellingham headed England in front after 35 minutes on the clock, with Bukayo Saka and Raheem Sterling adding to the lead before the half-time whistle.

Bukayo Saka added another goal for England just past the hour mark, with substitute Marcus Rashford scoring England’s fifth after Mehdi Taremi had pulled one back for Iran. Then England replacement Jack Grealish added a sixth for winners England, just before Iran’s penalty in the last moments.

England forward Bukayo Saka, who scored twice said: 

“I can’t describe the feeling, it is amazing. I am so happy and so proud. We got the win as well so it is a really special day.

“We needed that good start. We haven’t played the best coming into the tournament. There was a lot of talk and speculation about our form but we showed everyone how much quality we have and what we can do.

“It is amazing to get the win under so much pressure. But we have to be consistent because we have the next game coming up in a few days and we have to win again.

“I feel in a good place. I feel the support and love from the fans, the coaching staff and my team-mates. That is all I need. I feel ready to give 100% and I will continue to do that every time I put the shirt on.”

Aged 21 years and 77 days, Bukayo Saka has become the youngest player to score more than once in a single World Cup game for England.

Jude Bellingham (19y 145d) has became England’s second youngest goalscorer in World Cup history after Michael Owen in 1998 (18y 190d).

England’s next game will be on Friday at 7pm against the USA.

England’s starting lineup against Iran was as follows:

  • 1Jordan Pickford
  • 12Kieran Trippier
  • 5John Stones
  • 6Harry Maguire
  • 3Luke Shaw
  • 22Jude Bellingham
  • 4Declan Rice
  • 17Bukayo Saka
  • 19Mason Mount
  • 10Raheem Sterling
  • 9Harry Kane


  • 2Kyle Walker
  • 7Jack Grealish (s 71′)
  • 8Jordan Henderson
  • 11Marcus Rashford (s 71′)
  • 13Nick Pope
  • 14Kalvin Phillips
  • 15Eric Dier (s 70′)
  • 16Conor Coady
  • 18Trent Alexander-Arnold
  • 20Phil Foden (s 71′)
  • 21Ben White
  • 23Aaron Ramsdale
  • 24Callum Wilson (s 76′)
  • 26Conor Gallagher


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here